Learn about our team

Rod Choromanski

Rod Choromanski



  • 1981 : ND Architectural Technology T1 & T2 (ML Sultan Technikon-Durban
  • 1989 : Bachelor of Architecture University of Natal (Durban)


  • South African Council for the Architectural Profession (SACAP)  Professional Registration No. 5205 (1993)
  • South African Institute of Architects (SAIA)
  • KwaZulu-Natal Institute for Architecture (KZNIA)


  • CNN Architects: Co-founder and Principal Architect for eleven years.
  • Ing Jackson Architects
  • Vandeverre Apsey & Robinson Urban Planners and Architects (VARA)
  • MA Gafoor Architects.
  • Medium to large-scale institutional projects / architectural heritage & conservation / sports developments / low-income housing / urban design/ tourism facilities / retail & commercial / educational facilities / cultural institutions


  • Part-time lecturer in the Department of Architecture, Technikon Natal
  • Written for the Wetlands Wire on the Greater St. Lucia Heritage Park, and has had various projects published in local,national and international architectural journals.
  • Representative of the KwaZulu Natal Institute of Architects as an assessor to an architectural competition
  • Presented at the scientific conference Environment of the St. Lucia Wetland: Process of Change


  • Pan African Parliment. Midrand, Gauteng. Winner of a Continental Competition
  • Forced Removals Museum. Cato Manor, Durban. Winner of a National Competition
  • uMkhumbane Heritage Place. Cato Manor, Durban.
  • Master Planning of Health Facility. University of Kwa-Zulu Natal (UKZN), Durban.
  • Wentworth Housing (Then House of Representatives). Wentworth, Durban
  • Urban Design for KwaMashu Town Centre. KwaMashu, Durban.
  • Princess Magogo Stadium FIFA 2010 Training Venue. KwaMashu, Durban.
  • Durban University of Technology (DUT) Roof Refurbishments. DUT, Durban.
  • Durban University of Technology (DUT) Conversion of Scala Theatre to Kitchen and Dining Facilities. Durban.
  • University of Kwa-Zulu Natal (UKZN) Music School. UKZN, Durban.
  • Lilani Hot Springs Resort. Lilani, Greytown, Kwa-Zulu Natal.
  • Kendra Retirement Home. Durban. Winner of Invited Architects Competition.
  • Point Precinct Urban Design. Point Precinct, Durban.
  • Timeball Tower. Point Precinct, Durban.
  • Tourism Infrastructure. Greater St. Lucia Wetland Park, Kwa-Zulu Natal.
  • University of Kwa-Zulu Natal (UKZN) Student Residence; Westiville Campus
  • University of Kwa-Zulu Natal (UKZN) Student Residence Proposal. UKZN Edgewood Campus
  • University of Kwa-Zulu Natal (UKZN) Student Residence Proposal. UKZN Howard College Campus
  • Point Harbour Tunnel. Point Precinct, Durban.
  • Point Sewer Pump Station. Point Precinct, Durban.
  • Urban Design for Sibaya One Planet Living Mixed Use Development. Sibaya Precinct, Kwa-Zulu Natal.
  • Rivertown Precinct Urban Design. Rivertown, Durban.
  • Rivertown Beerhall and Gallery. Rivertown, Durban.
  • Collections Facility for Durban Art Gallery (DAG) and Local History Museum. Durban.
  • Palmer Street Recycle Pick-Up Centre. Rivertown, Durban.
  • Warwick Precinct Proposals:
    • New Inter-modal Transport and Trade Hub.
    • New Concourse for Berea Road Station
    • Berea Road Station Retail and Informal Traders
    • Berea Station Mall
    • Taxi Rank
    • Proposed African Bazaar
    • Linkages to IRPTN
    • Urban Analysis of Warwick Precinct and Markets.
    • Analysis of Pedestrian Movement and Counts in Association with Arup.

Competitions and Awards

  • Pan African Parliament, Winner of a Continental Competition in 2007.
  • Cato Manor Museum, Winner of a Nation Wide Competition in 2003.
  • Kendra Gardens Retirement Home, Winner of the Invited Competition in 2006.
  • Durban University of Technology (DUT) Student Village, Design Tender Winner in 2009.
  • Princess Magogo Stadium (FIFA 2010 Training Venue), Design Tender Winner.
  • Point Sewer Pump Station, Award Winner 2014
  • Durban University of Technology (DUT) City Campus, Award Winner ‘Bell Tower’ Restoration in 2010.
  • Timeball Tower, Kwa-Zulu Natal Institute for Architects (KZNIA) Building of Merit in 2009.
  • Timeball Tower, Special Award Winner Technical Excellence SSASA in 2009.
  • 2010 FIFA World Cup Venue Design Tender: Top 6 Finalist.
  • Point Sewer Pump Station in 2014
  •  Grand Prix Winner – African Architecture Awards 2017
  • Outstanding Paper/ Design Work Presentation Award at the 2017 International Union of Architects (UIA) in Seoul, South Korea.
Dhiren Ramlal

Dhiren Ramlal



1995 N.Dip. Architectural Technology

1996 B.Tech Architectural Technology< memberships

South African Council for the Architectural Profession (SACAP) / No. ST 0331


  • Sports development / tourism facilities / retail & commercial / educational facilities / cultural institutions
  • Worked For:
    • Choromanski Architects From 1997 – 2000
    • CNN Architects From 2000 – 2008
    • Choromanski Architects From 2008 – Current

Memberships with Professional Societies

  • 2000-2008 CNN Architects

  • Associate for 5 years 1997-2000 Choromanski Architects


  • Pan African Parliament, Continent wide competition winner
  • Forced Removals Museum
  • Durban University of Technology(DUT) – Maritime Studies
  • Durban University of Technology(DUT) – Industrial Engineering
  • Durban University of Technology(DUT) – Video and Technology
  • Princess Magogo Stadium
  • Durban University of Technology(DUT) – Roof Renovations and Refurbishments
  • Durban University of Technology(DUT) – Conversation of Scala Theater
  • University of Kwa-Zulu Natal (UKZN)  Music School
  • Lilani Hotsprings
  • Kendra Retirement Village
  • Durban University of Technology(DUT), Student Residence, Westville Campus
  • Warwick Precinct
  • Rivertown Precinct
  • Durban University of Technology (DUT) Residence; Walsingham, Stratford and Student Village
  • Rivertown Beerhall
  • Umlazi Recycle Centre
  • Palmer Street Cardboard Pickup Facility
  • Siyabonga Tourist Facility and Beach Ablutions
  • Mangaliso Wetland Park
  • Mkuse Game Reserve
  • Durban University of Technology (DUT) Laboratories